The best way to know the self is feeling oneself at the moments of reckoning. The feeling of being alone, just with your senses, may lead you to think more consciously. More and more of such moments may sensitize ‘you towards you’, towards others. We become regular with introspection and retrospection. We get ‘the’ gradual connect to the higher self we may name Spirituality or God or just a Humane Conscious. We tend to get a rhythm again in life. We need to learn the art of being lonely in crowd while being part of the crowd. A multitude of loneliness in mosaic of relations! One needs to feel it severally, with conscience, before making it a way of life. One needs to live several such lonely moments. One needs to live severallyalone.

Friday 28 February 2014



Districts having larger count of Muslims in the overall population - in descending order of the minority concentration districts (MCDs)* -  with varying vitality for assembly and parliamentary elections, i.e., being a Lok Sabha constituency or having more number of assembly constituencies, and thus the corresponding impact of the Muslim population in deciding on results of 'number' of Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha seats, i.e., a larger headcount in a more populous district (Moradabad Vs Rampur or Meerut Vs Baghpat) is electorally more significant (with greater parliamentary representation and more number of assembly constituencies) than having a larger percentage point in a smaller district: 

(These 15 districts make for 91 Vidhan Sabha seats and are covered by 14 Lok Sabha constituencies.)

1. Moradabad (The district has 9 ACs; the Moradabad LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 38,10,983
   Muslim population: 17,35,381
   Muslim population %: 46
   Minority population %: 46 

2. Muzaffarnagar (The district has 9 ACs; the Muzaffarnagar LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 35,43,362
   Muslim population: 13,49,629
   Muslim population %: 38
   Minority population %: 39

3. Bijnor (The district has 8 ACs; the Bijnor LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 31,31,619
   Muslim population: 13,06,329
   Muslim population %: 42
   Minority population %: 43 

4. Bareily (The district has 9 ACs; the Bareily LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 36,18,589
   Muslim population: 12,26,386
   Muslim population %: 34
   Minority population %: 35

5. Saharanpur (The district has 7 ACs; the Saharanpur LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 28,96,863
   Muslim population: 11,32,919
   Muslim population %: 39
   Minority population %: 40

6. Meerut (The district has 7 ACs; the Meerut LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 29,97,361
   Muslim population: 9,75,715
   Muslim population %: 33
   Minority population %: 34

7. Rampur (The district has 5 ACs; the Rampur LS constituency has 5 ACs)
    Total population: 19,23,739
    Muslim population: 9,45,277
    Muslim population %: 49
    Minority population %: 53 

8. Bahraich (The district has 7 ACs; the Bahraich LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 23,81,072
   Muslim population: 8,29,361
   Muslim population %: 35
   Minority population %: 35

9. Ghaziabad (The district has 8 ACs; the Ghaziabad LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 32,90,586
   Muslim population: 7,82,915
   Muslim population %: 24
   Minority population %: 25

10. Balampur (The district has 4 ACs; now part of Shrawasti LS constituency)
   Total population: 16,82,350
   Muslim population: 6,17,675
   Muslim population %: 37
   Minority population %: 37

11. Siddharthnagar  (The district has 5 ACs; part of Domariyaganj LS constituency)
   Total population: 20,40,085
   Muslim population: 6,00,336
   Muslim population %: 29
   Minority population %: 30

12. Jyotiba Phule Nagar (The district has 4 ACs; part of Amroha LS constituency)
   Total population: 14,99,068
   Muslim population: 5,90,308
   Muslim population %: 39
   Minority population %: 40

13. Pilibhit (The district has 4 ACs; the Pilibhit LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 16,45,183
   Muslim population: 3,90,773
   Muslim population %: 24
   Minority population %: 29

14. Shrawasti (The district has 2 ACs; the Shrawasti LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 11,76,391
   Muslim population: 3,01,117
   Muslim population %: 26
   Minority population %: 26

15. Baghpat (The district has 3 ACs; the Baghpat LS constituency has 5 ACs)
   Total population: 11,63,991
   Muslim population: 2,87,871
   Muslim population %: 25
   Minority population %: 25

AC: Assembly Constituency 
LS: Lok Sabha 

*Districts having minorities at least at 25% of the total population

**The data from the 2011 Census of India report on population of Muslims in India is not available and the reference point is still the 2001 Census report. 

**The minority concentration data also includes Christian, Sikh and Buddhist populations. In all the districts, the minority population percentage is basically about the Muslim population only as others add just one or two percentage points in almost of the cases. 

©/IPR: Santosh Chaubey -  

Data source: Ministry of Minority Affairs, Indian Council of Social Science Research, Reserve Bank of India, Election Commission of India, Census of India, Government of Uttar Pradesh, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Planning Commission, EPW, Seminar, Reports of Credible Media Organisations